Learn about Ad Rank and three ways to improve it.

Learn about Ad Rank and three ways to improve it.

Learn about Ad Rank and three ways to improve it.

This is your go-to resource for learning everything there is to know about the ad rank statistic and how to increase it without spending more money.
The basic definition of ad rank has remained the same over time.

The value that affects your ad's position on Google Search in comparison to other ads is called ad rank.

While we all know that ad rank is the most important factor in determining where your ads appear, what exactly are those factors?

What factors go into determining ad rank? What factors can you influence to boost your ad rank?

This is for you if you're not sure where, to begin with, ad rank.

While ad rank may appear to be a straightforward calculation, improving it can feel like an uphill battle.

You’ll find out everything you need to know about ad rank, why it matters, and how you can improve it without spending more.

What Exactly Is Ad Rank?

What Is Ad Rank and How Does It Work?

"A figure that's utilized to decide your ad position (where advertisements are shown on a page relative to other ads) and whether your ads will show at all," according to Google.
If your ad appears in the second position on the page, for example, your ad rank for that search is two.

What criteria, however, have an impact on your ad rank?

Prior to 2017, ad rank was based on your maximum CPC and the number of competitors in relation to the search.

It's grown much more complicated since Google Ads implemented some important modifications to the way Ad Rank is calculated, such as limits and machine learning.

To put it another way, Ad Rank is determined by:

The sum of your bid.
Ad quality at auction.
The auction's competitiveness
A user's search context.
Extensions and other ad formats are expected to have an influence.
To assign an Ad Rank to a certain keyword search, the above parameters are determined.
As a result, each search is inherently unique. That means you may have an Ad Rank of one in a single search auction. However, you could have an Ad Rank of four in the next search auction.

Let's take a closer look at each of the elements listed above in order to completely comprehend Ad Rank.

The amount you're willing to spend to appear in a given position when a user searches for a term is your bid price. There are minimum and maximum thresholds to consider. If you set a maximum CPC of $2 and the next highest bidder has a maximum CPC of $1.60, for example, you would pay $1.61 in that auction.
Advertisement quality: There are three primary aspects that determine the quality of your ad. Expected click-through rate (CTR), ad relevancy, and landing page experience is among them.

Location, device kind, and time of day are some of the signals and attributes that users provide. These factors will influence the ad rank thresholds.
Search context: Two persons searching for the same phrase could have very different circumstances.
Auction competitiveness: Your ad rank may be influenced by bids for related but similar queries. Because they are similar in nature, search terms like [wedding invitations] and [wedding invitations] may inform each other.

While organic and sponsored searches have significant distinctions, they both work in the same way in that Google favors more relevant content for searchers.

Now that we've covered the fundamentals of ad rank and how it's calculated, let's look at three techniques to boost your ad rank without paying any more money.
1. Make Your Ads More Relevant
Your ad rank is heavily influenced by ad relevance. As previously stated, one of the three components that make up ad quality or quality score is ad relevancy.

The official definition of ad relevancy, according to Google, is "how well your ad matches the intent behind a user's search."

So, how do you make your ads more relevant?

Begin by reviewing your current ad copy and comparing it to the keywords you're bidding on.

Are there any keywords in your headlines or descriptions that a user might be looking for?

Responsive Search Ads are a terrific method to experiment with different copies to see what resonates with users the most.
Google does provide some reporting on headlines and descriptions, including how they rank in terms of performance from "poor" to "best."

If you have winning ad content that consistently performs well, you may pin your top-performing headline to the top of your ad, guaranteeing that it appears in your ad at all times.

Now, while including relevant keywords in your material that a user is searching for is important, don't mix this with keyword stuffing.

The days of concentrating on SKAGs are long gone (single keyword ad groups). With SKAGs, it used to be simple to achieve higher ad relevance because your headline almost always matched a specific search word.

Because of Google's increase in Exact match types, advertisers have had to abandon SKAGs in favor of focusing on the big picture. Everyone searches differently, and relying on SKAGs in your account to drill down to a specific level may limit your options.

Second, how well an ad matches a user's purpose is part of Google's definition of ad relevancy.

Let's say I'm looking for [cost of keyword research tool]. I'm obviously interested in finding out how much a tool like that would cost me every month.

This example covers all of the important aspects of a good advertisement:
My search phrase was aligned with the headline.
The use of the site link extension to compare plans and prices is excellent.
With over 10 million users, it provides brand authority.
A longer trial period is available to test things out before making a purchase.
To summarise, ad relevancy is more than just stuffing keywords into your material as many times as possible.

Google is more concerned with a user's intent and how well your ad can assist them.

2. Pay Attention to Ad Extension Content When creating new campaigns and ad groups, it's easy to overlook ad extensions.

While they may appear to be time-consuming or unimportant to set up, the opposite is true.

Ad extensions are an important aspect of improving your Google ad rank. They aid in increasing your CTR and, as a result, your ad rank.

Why do they aid in the increase of CTR? I'm glad you inquired!

Ad extensions allow you to provide users with more information about your company that your ad couldn't. After all, with headlines and descriptions, we're still limited by character count.

However, don't just add extensions because they're there.

In fact, if you add extensions to a campaign or ad group that aren't relevant to the search terms, your ad rank may suffer.

So, what are the benefits of ad extensions?

Almost anything, actually! Google continues to develop new ways for advertising to communicate with users in order to assist them in solving an issue.

As of now, these are the available ad extensions you can create:

  • Location (and Affiliate Location).
  • Sitelink.
  • Callout.
  • Structured Snippet.
  • Price.
  • App.
  • Image.
  • Lead Form.
  • Promotion.
  • Call.
  • How do you decide which ones to include out of all these options?

    Ad extensions should ideally be created based on the campaign's goal (s).

    For example, if you're a local shop wanting to increase in-store visitation, adding location extensions could help.

    Add relevant site links to different regions of your site that can help address a user's problem if you want to increase online traffic.

    If generating leads is your primary goal, consider using a lead form extension in your advertising – especially if your landing page isn't up to par. However, in the following section, we'll go over landing pages in further detail.

    To recap, be as explicit as possible when adding extensions to your campaigns. Aligning them with your campaign's objectives may be beneficial.

3. Improve Your Landing Pages
Landing pages are frequently overlooked in the conversion process.

However, I'd say that this is the most critical aspect of optimizing your ad rank to do correctly.

If you've ever clicked on a paid ad and been disappointed by the landing page, you understand how aggravating it can be.

The user experience can make or break whether a searcher decides to buy from you.

What you expect to find when you arrive at a website should be reflected in your search query.

Many advertisers used to spend a lot of effort designing a unique landing page for each ad group to guarantee that the page included exactly what the ad group needed.

If you haven't noticed, Google's recent theme is purpose.

We need to focus less on whether or not our landing page headline matches exactly what a person searches for and more on what they see when they arrive.

When it comes to developing a successful landing page, there are several factors to consider:

What kind of gadget a user is using.

The amount of "white space" (or superfluous space) on the page.

Before a user needs to scroll, is there a clear call-to-action (CTA)?

How many clicks does it take for a user to solve their issue?

The speed with which the website loads.

If you get my drift, the list could go on and on.

The key is that in order to boost your ad rank, your landing page experience must be of high quality and consistency.

The landing page experience has become so important that Google has included it in its Quality Score measure!

The results will show over time if you put in the effort today on your landing pages.

Are you more likely to alter your bids and budgets in order to improve your ad rank?
If this has been your go-to method, I recommend taking a step back and looking at your efforts as a whole.

You may adjust several parameters in your advertising to change the ad rank statistic without increasing your campaign expenditure.

Improve your ad copy to match the search intent of a user.
With strong and relevant ad extensions, you may increase the CTR of your ad.
Increase conversion rates by focusing on improving the landing page experience.
You can feel safe adjusting bids and budgets to dominate the top search position if you've put in the effort on these pieces.


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